This broken body of mine.

Today marks the 4 year anniversary of the car accident that more or less destroyed my life.
It was like any other day, I was headed from class to pick up my daughter from daycare. Traffic downtown was ludicrous as usual. So I was taking the necessary precautions. Go figure it would happen while I was sitting at a red light. And go figure I would be slammed into by a 16 punk kid with no license or insurance.
Since then…. I’ve discovered that I have three herniated discs in my lower back. Since then I’ve had days that I can barely walk or have to use crutches. I’ve been placed on countless medicines that turned me into an absolute brainless, directionless drone that drools all over herself. (Super amusing if your boyfriend tells you everything you said.) Oh! And treatments! Lots if them. Three rounds of physical therapy — ouch. None of those worked… so now it’s epidural injections straight into the disc and as of recently RFA treatments. Radio frequency ablation….. in which radio frequencies are used to burn the nerves. 4 needles are used, and leaves me swollen for days. Hasn’t done much good yet.

So why do my back problems bug me? I can barely walk, I usually can’t sleep, and…. I can’t play with my daughter like I used to.

Don’t get me wrong, but I do very well believe that I am getting discouraged about my back ever being normal again….. hmm.

Leave a Reply

